Everything About Florida Law Durable Medical Equipment

Durable Medical Equipment

Healthcare businesses are often confused by Florida law regarding durable medical equipment, but the truth is that legal compliance and licensure is a simple process that can save home medical providers tens of thousands of dollars every year.

What Is Durable Medical Equipment?

Durable medical equipment is defined by Medicare as a piece of machinery that is used repeatedly for a medical purpose with an expected lifetime of at least three years.

Here are a few examples of durable medical equipment:

  • Hospital beds and air-fluidized beds
  • Wheelchairs, electric mobility machines, and lifts
  • Blood sugar monitors and test strips
  • CPAP devices and CPM machines
  • Crutches, walkers, and canes
  • Oxygen equipment

These are just a few of the types of equipment that fall under the “durable medical equipment” definition in the state of Florida. If you believe that any equipment that your business provides to patients falls under the more general definition, reach out to Florida Healthcare Firm to find out what you need to do to protect your business from regulation violations.

What Florida Laws Pertain to Durable Medical Equipment?

One of the first Florida laws related to durable medical equipment is that the healthcare business that rents or provides this equipment to patients must be licensed to do so by the state. One license is needed for each location. In Florida, many doctors and chiropractors that provide durable medical equipment to patients for in-home use also require HME licensure.

What Is the Florida Law of Return of Durable Medical Equipment?

There are a number of laws regarding the disposal of durable medical equipment in Florida — laws that protect the environment by demanding recycling and upcycling when possible.

In most cases, healthcare businesses are not allowed to dump durable medical equipment in the landfill. Florida has strict laws about the disposal of home medical equipment, and violators are charged with stiff fines.

What Is the Penalty for Violating These Florida Laws?

In Florida, healthcare businesses that violate laws on durable medical equipment face hefty fines and fees on top of legal costs.

For example, if you rent or sell durable medical equipment without proper licensure, it is punishable by a fine of $500 to $1000, and each day that the equipment is rented out is identified as a separate offense. Over the course of years, this could add up to millions of dollars.

Is Your Business in Violation of Durable Medical Equipment Laws in Florida?

If your business ever rents or sells home medical equipment to patients, it is a good idea to have all your processes and protocols reviewed by a healthcare law firm that can ensure that you are in compliance, starting with proper licensure.

Contact Florida Healthcare Firm today to find out how to protect your business from legal fines and fees related to violation of Florida durable medical equipment laws.